A Funny Thing Happened On the Way

£9.99

Nancy Spain was one of the most celebrated – and notorious – writers and broadcasters of the 40s, 50s and 60s. Hilarious, controversial and brilliant, she lived openly as a lesbian (sharing a household with her two lovers and their various children) and was frequently litigated against for her newspaper columns – Evelyn Waugh successfully sued her for libel – twice. Nancy Spain had a deep love of the Mediterranean. So it was no surprise when, in the 1960s, she decided to build a place of her own on the Greek island of Skiathos. With an impractical nature surpassed only by her passion for the project, and despite many obstacles, she gloriously succeeded.

Out of stock

Description

The superb classic memoir from a dazzlingly eccentric and endlessly fascinating author and feminist icon – a woman very much ahead of her time – including her time spent on the glorious island of Skiathos

‘A happy, hilarious book’ Daily Express

Nancy Spain was one of the most celebrated – and notorious – writers and broadcasters of the 50s and 60s. Witty, controversial and brilliant, she lived openly as a lesbian (sharing a household with her two lovers and their various children) and was frequently litigated against for her newspaper columns – Evelyn Waugh successfully sued her for libel… twice.

Nancy Spain had a deep love of the Mediterranean. So it was no surprise when, in the 1960s, she decided to build a place of her own on the Greek island of Skiathos. With an impractical nature surpassed only by her passion for the project, and despite many obstacles, she gloriously succeeded. This classic memoir is infused with all Spain’s chaotic brilliance, zest for life and single-minded pursuit of a life worth living.

Perfect for fans of A PLACE IN THE SUN and ESCAPE TO THE COUNTRY

‘Full of fun, and that zest of intelligence that never left her’ Sunday Times

Additional information

Weight 0.257 kg
Dimensions 19.6 × 12.6 × 2.6 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

272

Language

English

Edition
Dewey

914.958092 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K