Brood

£9.99

In Brood, a stunning new voice depicts one woman’s attempt to keep her four chickens alive while reflecting on a recent loss of a miscarriage.

In stock

Description

‘Fans of Elizabeth Strout and Anne Tyler will devour it.’ – Daily Mirror

‘Full of surprise, humor, grief, and wisdom.’ –
Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

Darkly witty, deeply moving – Jackie Polzin’s Brood is a startlingly original debut novel about motherhood, marriage and grief, full of sorrow, joy and unrelenting hope.

Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for another creature entails – and all the while struggling to confront her own recent loss. From the forty-below nights of a brutal Minnesota winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined.

Additional information

Weight 0.174 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 13 × 1.6 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

240

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

813.6 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K