Tennis Lessons

£8.99

From dead pets and crashed cars to family traumas and misguided love affairs, Susannah Dickey’s revitalising debut novel plunges us into the private world of one young woman as she navigates her rocky way to adulthood.

Out of stock

SKU: 9781784165055 Category: Tag:

Description

For fans of I MAY DESTROY YOU and FLEABAG and for readers who want to laugh and cry: the brave, beautiful, sometimes brutal story of a young misfit and her rocky road to womanhood, stopping at each year along the way.

‘I loved Tennis Lessons so much’ ELIZABETH DAY

‘A raw, fierce, shockingly honest coming-of-age story’ LOUISE O’NEILL

‘Incredibly funny . . . by turns charming and disgusting and I loved it’ NELL FRIZZELL


You’re strange and wrong.
You’ve known it from the beginning.

This is the voice that rings in your ears. Because you never say the right thing. You’re a disappointment to everyone. You’re a far cry from beautiful – and your thoughts are ugly too.

You seem bound to fail, bound to break.

But you know what it is to laugh with your best friend, to feel the first tentative tingles of attraction, to take exquisite pleasure in the affront of your unruly body.

You just need to find your place.

From dead pets and crashed cars to family traumas and misguided love affairs, Susannah Dickey’s revitalizing debut novel plunges us into the private world of one young woman as she navigates her rocky way to adulthood.

‘Brilliant . . . a wonderful writer, hugely talented, very funny and insightful’ ALAN DAVIES

‘Propulsive . . . brilliantly vivid . . . stays in the mind long after reading’ IRISH TIMES

‘A beautifully written and psychologically incisive bildungsroman…the arrival of a young writer to watch’ OBSERVER

Additional information

Weight 0.179 kg
Dimensions 19.7 × 12.7 × 1.6 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

243

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K