The Girl From the Island

£7.99

A USA Today Bestseller!

‘Wow! What an enthralling and emotional read! I was literally in tears? Captivating.’ Goodreads reviewer, ?????

Description

A USA Today Bestseller!

‘Wow! What an enthralling and emotional read! I was literally in tears? Captivating.’ Goodreads reviewer, ?????

A world at war. One woman will risk everything. Another will uncover her story.

1940: When the island of Guernsey is invaded by the Nazis, two sisters are determined to rebel in any way they can. But when forced to take in a German soldier, they are shocked to find a familiar face on their doorstep – a childhood friend who has now become their enemy.

2016: Two generations later, Lucy returns to Guernsey after the death of a distant cousin. As she prepares the old family house for sale, Lucy discovers a box of handwritten notes, one word standing out: resistance. Lucy’s search for the author will uncover the story of a forgotten sister who vanished from the island one night, never to be seen again.

A timeless story of love and bravery. Fans of Fiona Valpy and Kate Quinn will be absolutely gripped from the very first page.

Readers love The Girl from the Island:

I finished this novel last night and I cannot get it out of my head? Put the phone off the hook, pour yourself a nice hot chocolate and settle down for a wonderful read‘ Goodreads reviewer, ?????

I was gripped from the beginning and could not put it down. I lost a lot of sleep on this one and do not regret it in the slightest!!’ Goodreads reviewer, ?????

Unputdownable, passionate, captivating, and magnetic!!‘ Goodreads reviewer, ?????

Absolutely brilliant? I had to stay up late to read the next chapter!! I couldn’t put it down’ Goodreads reviewer, ?????

Gripping and very emotional? This book has it all and I loved it‘ Goodreads reviewer, ?????

A heart wrenching story of love, loss and survival‘ Goodreads reviewer, ?????

A beautiful, wonderful, and poignant story‘ Goodreads reviewer, ?????

Utterly beautiful and poignant? I was blown away’ Goodreads reviewer, ?????

Additional information

Weight 0.29 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 2.6 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

390

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K