Time Lived, Without Its Flow

£9.99

A beautiful, short philosophical memoir of maternal loss and grief, for readers of Max Porter and Helen MacDonald.

In stock

Description

‘One of the most eloquent thinkers about our life in language’ The Sunday Times

Time Lived, Without Its Flow is a beautiful, unflinching essay on the nature of grief from critically acclaimed poet Denise Riley. From the horrific experience of maternal grief Riley wrote her celebrated collection Say Something Back, a modern classic of British poetry. This essay is a companion piece to that work, looking at the way time stops when we lose someone suddenly from our lives.

The first half is formed of diary-like entries written by Riley after the news of her son’s death, the entries building to paint a live portrait of loss. The second half is a ruminative post script written some years later with Riley looking back at the experience philosophically and attempting to map through it a literature of consolation. Written in precise and exacting prose, with remarkable insight and grace this book will form kind counsel to all those living on in the wake of grief. A modern-day counterpart to C. S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed.

Published widely for the first time since its original limited release, this revised edition features a special introduction by Max Porter, author of Grief is A Thing With Feathers.

‘Her writing is perfectly weighted, justifies its existence’ – Guardian

Additional information

Weight 0.174 kg
Dimensions 18.5 × 11.9 × 1.9 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Hardback

Pages

87

Language

English

Edition

Revised edition

Dewey

128.5 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K