Vanished

£8.99

The gripping new thriller from the author of 55, perfect for fans of Jane Harper and Chris Hammer. 

In stock

SKU: 9781471177590 Category: Tags: , ,

Description

FROM THE GROUNDBREAKING AUTHOR OF 55 COMES AN EXTRAORDINARY NEW THRILLER . . . 

‘Intense, insightful and impossible to put down’ CAZ FREAR

When you go looking for a new start, make sure you don’t find a nightmare instead. 

The Kane family, Lorcan, Naiyana and their young son, relocate from Perth to Kallayee, an abandoned mining town in the Great Victoria Desert to start over again, free from their chequered past. 
 
The town seems like the perfect getaway: Peaceful. Quiet. Remote. Somewhere they won’t be found.  
 
But life in Kallayee isn’t quite as straightforward as they hope. There are noises in the earth, mysterious shadows and tracks in the dust, as if the town is coming back to life. 
 
But the family won’t leave. No one can talk sense into them.
 
And now, no one can talk to them at all.
 
They’ve simply vanished. 
 
Now it’s up to Detective Emmaline Taylor to find them? before it’s too late. 

** Praise for Vanished **

‘Delargy manages to turn the wide-open deserted Outback into something intensely claustrophobic and chilling’ Russ Thomas

Vanished is a gripping tale of greed and betrayal, burning with tension under a harsh Australian sun’ Caz Frear

‘Brilliantly atmospheric . . . with a sense of menace that pervades every page’ Kate Rhodes

‘Powered through this in two sittings. Vanished ratchets up the tension page after page, playing out in a perfect isolated setting with such a claustrophobic feel, and so vividly painted you could step right in’ Rob Scragg

‘There is menace on every page of this atmospheric thriller. An abandoned mining town in the Australian outback is the desolate – almost surreal – backdrop to a tale of a disintegrating family. Perfect for fans of The Dry’ Jo Furniss, author of the Amazon Charts best-seller All The Little Children

 

** Praise for 55 **

‘A pulse-pounding psycho-thriller . . . splendidly-engineered plot and a masterly sense of pace allied to a haunting background make for a powerful debutCrime Time

‘A clever concept for this fast-moving debut, fleshed out with a sympathetic hero haunted by grim memories’ Sunday Times Crime Club

‘Fabulously atmospheric, a splendid slice of outback noir for fans of Jane Harper. The intricately woven plot sucks you into a hostile world and keeps you sweating until the final page’ Adam Southward

A gripping race through the bleak Australian outback to find a missing family: Vanished captivated and intrigued me from page one’  Louisa De Lange

If you liked The Dry you will like this‘ 

Additional information

Weight 0.344 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 13 × 2.9 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

487

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K