Berlin

£14.99

When Daphne Ferber arrives in Berlin for a fresh start in a thrilling new city, the last thing she expects is to run into more drama than she left behind. Of course, she knew she’d need to do the usual: make friends, acquire lovers, grapple with German and a whole new way of life. She even expected the long nights gorging alone on family-sized jars of Nutella, and the pitfalls of online dating in another language. The paranoia, the second-guessing of her every choice, the covert behaviours? Probably come with the territory. But one night, something strange, dangerous and entirely unexpected intervenes, and life in bohemian Kreuzberg suddenly doesn’t seem so cool. Just how much trouble is Daphne in, and who – or what – is out to get her?

In stock

SKU: 9780857527974 Category: Tag:

Description

‘Scintillating . . . wonderfully funny’ Financial Times

‘One for Sally Rooney fans’ Sunday Telegraph

‘Uncommonly funny, cinematically vivid, and refreshingly honest’ LISA HALLIDAY, author of Asymmetry

‘I was completely absorbed’ FRANCESCA REECE, author of Voyeur

When Daphne Ferber arrives in Berlin for a fresh start in a thrilling new city, the last thing she expects is to run into more drama than she left behind.

Of course, she knew she’d need to do the usual: make friends, acquire lovers, grapple with German and a whole new way of life. She even expected the long nights gorging alone on family-sized jars of Nutella, and the pitfalls of online dating in another language. The paranoia, the second-guessing of her every choice, the covert behaviours? Probably come with the territory.

But one night, something strange, dangerous and entirely unexpected intervenes, and life in bohemian Kreuzberg suddenly doesn’t seem so cool.

Just how much trouble is Daphne in, and who – or what – is out to get her?

Channelling the modern female experience with razor-sharp observation and witty flair, Berlin announces Bea Setton as an electrifying literary voice for her generation.

‘I loved this novel with its complex, flawed and fascinating heroine. . . A wonderful achievement’ NICK BRADLEY, author of The Cat and the City

*FOR FANS OF MY YEAR OF REST AND RELAXATION, EXCITING TIMES AND WRITERS & LOVERS *

Additional information

Weight 0.377 kg
Dimensions 22.2 × 14.4 × 2.6 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Hardback

Pages

256

Language

English

Edition

Hardback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K