She Who Became the Sun

£16.99

Zhu journeys from life as a peasant girl to war and the heights of power. This is a traditional Chinese tale reimagined in a subversive new way, for fans of The Song of Achilles and Across the Nightingale Floor.

In stock

SKU: 9781529043389 Category: Tags: , ,

Description

THE NUMBER ONE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

This audacious, brilliant debut is a vivid, original reimagining . . . Peopled by flawed, fearless characters and with a dramatically violent storyline, this is immersive storytelling at its finest Daily Mail

‘A thoroughly engrossing read with a fabulous, tragic-trickster protagonist . . . I’ve been waiting for a book like this Megan Campisi, author of Sin Eater

‘A dazzling new world of fate, war, love and betrayal’ Zen Cho, author of Black Water Sister

She Who Became the Sun reimagines the rise to power of the Ming Dynasty’s founding emperor.

In a famine-stricken village on a dusty plain, a seer shows two children their fates. For a family’s eighth-born son, there’s greatness. For the second daughter, nothing.

In 1345, China lies restless under harsh Mongol rule. And when a bandit raid wipes out their home, the two children must somehow survive. Zhu Chongba despairs and gives in. But the girl resolves to overcome her destiny. So she takes her dead brother’s identity and begins her journey. Can Zhu escape what’s written in the stars, as rebellion sweeps the land? Or can she claim her brother’s greatness – and rise as high as she can dream?

This is a glorious tale of love, loss, betrayal and triumph by a powerful new voice.

‘As brilliant as Circe . . . a deft and dazzling triumph’ Tasha Suri, author of The Jasmine Throne

Epic, tragic and gorgeous Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January

She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan is a historical fantasy reimagining of the rise to power of Zhu Yuanzhang. Zhu was the peasant rebel who expelled the Mongols, unified China under native rule, and became the founding Emperor of the Ming Dynasty.

Additional information

Weight 0.634 kg
Dimensions 24.2 × 16.3 × 4.1 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Hardback

Pages

416

Language

English

Edition

Hardback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K