Sugar

£8.99

Young and confident, with a swagger in her step, Sugar arrives in the small southern town of Bigelow with the hope of starting over. Soon Bigelow is alight with gossip and suspicion, and Sugar fears she can’t hide from her past. Until, that is, she meets Pearl, her next-door neighbour. Over sweet-potato pie, an unlikely friendship begins, transforming both women’s lives – and the life of an entire town. Vividly bringing 1950s Deep South America to life, with its flowering magnolia trees, lingering scents of jasmine and honeysuckle, and white picket fences that keep strangers out – but ignorance and superstition in, Sugar takes us on a journey through loss and suffering to a place of forgiveness, understanding, and grace.

In stock

SKU: 9781784877316 Category: Tag:

Description

***A RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK 2021***

‘Poignant and bittersweet, this novel is a joy’ Richard & Judy

Perfect for fans of The Vanishing Half and Where the Crawdads Sing, Sugar is a classic waiting to be rediscovered.

Young and confident, with a swagger in her step, Sugar arrives in the southern town of Bigelow hoping to start over. Soon Bigelow is alight with gossip and suspicion, and Sugar fears her past is catching up with her. Then she meets Pearl, a woman trying to forget her own traumas. As these next-door neighbours become unlikely friends, they wonder if their lives could finally be changing for the better. But small towns have long memories…

‘A page-turning novel guaranteed to be looked back on as a timeless classic’
INDEPENDENT

‘This book is so engaging and beautiful and intriguing and satisfying that I could not put it down’
ELLE

‘Riveting… Searing and expertly imagined’
TONI MORRISON on Bernice L. McFadden

Readers are falling for Sugar

‘Such an enjoyable read… beautifully written, raw and impactful’
‘Riveting, heart-breaking’
‘Very powerful, poignant’
‘Beautifully written… brutal and moving… a must read book’
‘Well-written with rich characters and many twists and turns’
‘So descriptive yet easy to read, and it made me fall in love with all the characters’

This Bitter Earth, the sequel to Sugar, will be reissued as a Vintage Classic in July 2022 and is available to pre-order now.

Additional information

Weight 0.244 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 1.9 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

ix, 292

Language

English

Edition

Reprint

Dewey

813.6 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K